It's an old old world.

It's been a long, hard year but the last months have been the best (hobby-wise) we've had in a while. Me and my friends have played more Warcry and Bloodbowl games than the past two years combined, and God, we're hyped.

It's an old old world.

It's been a long, hard year but the last months have been the best (hobby-wise) we've had in a while. Me and my friends have played more Warcry and Bloodbowl games than the past two years combined, and God, we're hyped.

I've discovered that building weird Blood Bowl teams like Underworld Denizens or Chaos Renegades is totally my jam, so I wanted to jump to the next one: Old World Alliance.

The problem with that one is that GW new models don't match at all, even with heavy modifications to the original plastic models. No matter how many sketches I did, I managed to make a couple of subfactions look alike, but not the four you need (dwarves, humans, halflings and Ogres -I've left the Treeman for my Elves). Also, the new plastic dwarven team isn't exactly conversion-friendly to be honest.

So then, as I was undusting my WHFB lead mercenaries and halflings, it struck me like a spiked ball in the head: The rounded studed armor on the second edition dwarves mached pretty well with same edition halflings... And with the (cheap) plastic humans with pointy shoulderpads and round helmets. And the shoulderpad on some of the Big Guys...

This has a funny twist: It's a recently added team with no old version of it made of OOP citadel models. I loved that idea.

So I started to crawl into catalogues and websites to check if this was a stupid idea because of the OOP model prices. And it wasn't! The humans were cheap and easy to find (I suppose the rising 3d printing market has this effect on second hand market for old plastic); there was a guy selling a full dwarf team for a reasonable price, and Big Guys were everywhere! (ok, most of them are UK sellers so I would have to fight the customs and pay more money to get them, but it was doable within a reasonable budget).

Also, I could double the project with little additional efford: If I commit to a single color scheme I could have 2 teams Dwarves and Old World Alliance.

So a couple of days later and after a pretty intense friday night on eBay I got almost everything I need (the rest has been arranged to be sent in January). So here's a sketch of what's coming in 2023:

My roadmap for this should look like this:

  • Paint 3 plastic humans and the metal human blitzer.
  • Paint a Dwarf Blitzer (no helmet) with a red beard and hair so he looks like a Slayer.
  • Paint an Ogre, a Dwarf lineman I'll use as a thrower and a Halfling.
  • With all the above, start playing Sevens while I paint the rest.
  • Find & buy single models so I can expand the team to build: An Old Alliance full team and a Dwarf team (the two will be painted in the same scheme, speaking of which...).
Dwarf Giants classic color scheme.

I'm not decided on the size of the bases for this guys: Old small bases or regular BloodBowl 2020 bases? I need some help with this.

EDIT: February the 5th. The project is now in pause because after the Royal Mail ransomware fiasco my eBay halflings & human blitzer are lost in the warp (it's been a month since the tracker got updated for the last time, and I'm sure they are lost forever). Luckily, the dwarves, the ogres and the plastic humans are all safe and sound at home (and at a reasonable price, TBH), and I've started to paint the humans in blue & yellow after the blue, yellow & white scheme resulted in a dirty mess. The only thing I don't have is a second edition Treeman.