15mm 40k is the new Black

At some point last year I found this excelent painter on Instagram that was posting amazing tiny Eldar models. After looking for some time, I learnt that those were sculpted by Lord Chronos in order to play 6mm 40k (Epic? How do they call that nowadays?).

15mm 40k is the new Black

At some point last year I found this excelent painter on Instagram that was posting amazing tiny Eldar models.

After looking for some time, I learnt that those were sculpted by Lord Chronos in order to play 6mm 40k (Epic? How do they call that nowadays?).

This was my first free weekend in a while, so I decided to take them out of their zip bag and give them a try.

I have like 20 Grim Reapers in the original scale (6mm) and a couple of squads in 15mm. After thinking about it I decided to go 15mm. If you look at the next picture (and consider my age and eyesight) you'll understand.

6mm Grim Reaper next to a GW regular Ranger.
15mm Ranger and Striking Scorpion.

To make this even better, I finally put my hands on some Xpress Vallejo paints, so I decided to paint them using only that as a kind of a training for the new paints (and the mandatory lights using any other paint, mostly AK-Interactive or Scale75; I'll post the recipees below). That and a brand new Rosemary & Co number 3 meant the best weekend ever.

Now that's a pointy brush.

So, long story short, I had 2 complete squads painted in a weekend, using those fantastic paints (you won't believe me but Contrast & Speedpaints are shit next to Vallejo's new line). I mixed them to get other colours, used water instead of medium most of the time... And they behave amazingly. Here's the result:

Eldars crossing a Webway Portal into the unknown, like in... Stargate?

Next will be Guardians (because we all need line units), Reapers (pew pew) and probably a Wraithlord. It's important to note that they were made with a 2k printer (now we're using a 4k, wait until I finish painting my Lizarmen Blood Bowl team) and they have a lot of issues (even a couple of missing legs, totally our fault).

But I think this is a quick and cool way of collecting and playing any 40k edition you like, super cheap, and with the plus of not giving GW a single € (have you heard they increased the prices AGAIN last month?).

So, if you want a taste too, go visit Chrono's profile on 3D Cults. Try not to scream when you see his Warlocks.

See you all in 2 weeks with some dinosaur action on... Beach Bowl!

PS: Here's my palette. Hope it makes sense to you.